The Spirit of Anne Frank Awards

The 2006 Spirit of Anne Frank Awards

Ed Fry, M.C., Yvonne Simons, Executive Director, and Jack Polak, Chairman Emeritus

AFC-USA Board Members Michiel Schuit, Paul Kaplan (Chairman), Steve Stander, Tom Wysmuller

Albert E. Moses, Consul General of the Netherlands in Eastern Canada, with Spirit Award winner Janice Katz

Spirit Award winner Ashley Marino

Director Richard LaGravenese with the Distinguished Advocate Award

Jack Polak-Chairman Emeritus, The Anne Frank Center USA

M.C. Ed Fry and Yvonne Simons, Executive Director

AFC Board Member Madi Ferencz de Voogd

Erin Gruwell, Author Freedom Writers and 1998 Award Recipient

Ms. Lillian Vernon

Richard LaGavenese and Erin Gruwell

Fred Whittaker, Outstanding Educator Award

Nick Corely, Stage Manager

Master of Ceremonies Ed Fry

AFC-USA Board member Sam Fredman and Spirit Award winner Seamus Hodgkinson

Spirit Award winners First Lieutenant Billy Chau, First Lieutenant Charles Morgan, Sergeant Nicholas Jelks, Darragh Clarke, Mwesaila Saila-Ngita, and Marissa Cappel

Board member Michiel Schuit with Benefit Committee Hostess Marjorie Morris

Director Richard LaGravenese



AFC USA does not collect information from site visitors. Students are not automatically enrolled in solicitations, nor will receive extraneous emails. No applicant information is collected via this website. Submissions cannot be sent electronically. All applications must be submitted in hard copy by mail. If you are interested in receiving additional information regarding Anne Frank Center programming please send a separate email to info(at) You can also subscribe to our newsletter, or unsubscribe if you are currently enrolled, using the form in the left-hand column on our home page.