Spirit of Anne Frank Awards (SAFA) - 
Outstanding Educators

The "Outstanding Educator" is awarded each year at the Spirit of Anne Frank Awards to educational leaders who have proven exceptional in their schools, institutions, and communities.


This leadership is demonstrated in their desire and drive to carry on Anne Frank’s legacy by inspiring the next generation of humanitarians through their example of fostering awareness and combating intolerance. Interest and involvement should be exhibited through innovative curriculum and/or by spearheading initiatives that address human rights and strive to create positive change. Past winners of these awards include classroom teachers, school administrators, museum educators, community organizers, nonprofit founders, and others.


Applicant Eligibility

Must be a teacher or administrator in the United States at either:

  • a public, private, charter, or online school, OR

  • a museum or other cultural institution in the United States whose main mission is education.

All applicants must read and sign the
Terms & Conditions


Application Deadline: March 10, 2019.

Winners are recognized and invited to attend the annual SAFA fundraising gala and awards ceremony in New York City. This year's event is Monday, June 17, 2019.

2018 "Educator of the Year" Ivy Schamis (far right) from Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Florida, pictured here with runners up:

  • Victor Frias (Entrada Academy, Bronx),

  • Lisa Liss (Los Angeles), and

  • Diana Leygerman (Martitime Academy Charter School, Philadelphia)

Inspiring every generation to build the more compassionate world Anne Frank envisioned.

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle


212-431-7993  ·  email us


The Anne Frank Center for Mutual Respect preserves the legacy of the young diarist through education and arts programming. We work to create the kinder and fairer world of which Anne Frank dreamed.

The Anne Frank Center for Mutual Respect is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. Please support us to help us continue our mission. Contributions to the organization are tax deductible to the extent permitted by law.

© 2020 by Anne Frank Center USA

All quotations from Anne Frank and photos of the Frank family are used by permission and copyright ANNE FRANK FONDS Basel, Switzerland.