to our 2019 Spirit of Anne Frank Awards recipients
and many thanks to everyone who supported the event!

Stay tuned for announcements for next year's slate of honorees, including the call for nominations for our education awards and scholarships.

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

scroll right for more pictures

About the Awards

Each year in celebration of Anne Frank's birthday, the Anne Frank Center for Mutual Respect hosts the Spirit of Anne Frank Awards to recognize worthy students, educators, citizens, peacemakers, and role models who uphold Anne's ideals of hope, justice, and equality. Scholarship and humanitarian award recipients are selected based on their extraordinary social and humanitarian efforts to engender understanding, equality, and mutual respect among diverse populations of people.

Recent Honorees

2019 SAFA Interfaith Unity Award

Rabbi Jeffrey Myers, Reverend Eric S.C. Manning, and Imam Ibrahim Abdelhalim

This year we recognize congregations who have witnessed unspeakable tragedy in the midst of prayer:

  • Linwood Islamic Center & Al Noor Masjid
    Christchurch, New Zealand · March 15, 2019

  • Tree of Life *Or L'Simcha Synagogue
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania · October 27, 2018

  • Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church
    Charleston, South Carolina · June 17, 2015

The world has been deeply moved by these and other horrifying tragedies throughout the world; we share in the mourning yet are also inspired by the spirit of solidarity that has emerged.

Please reload

2018 Award Winners

2018 SAFA Youth Empowerment Award

2018 SAFA Business Community Leadership Award

2018 SAFA Human Writes Award

2018 SAFA Promisekeeper Award

2018 SAFA Lifetime Inspiration Award

Please reload

2018 SAFA Teacher of the Year

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
Parkland, Florida

2018 Puffin Foundation West SAFA Scholarship

Interfaith Dialogue

Port St Lucie, Florida

2018 ING SAFA Scholarship

Sit With Us app

Sherman Oaks, California

2018 Jacob Salzman SAFA Scholarship

CARE Closet food pantry

Lawrenceville, Georgia

Scholarship donated by Les and Sybil Rosenberg

Please reload

AFCMR-90th-Birthday-logo (2).png
Spirit of Anne Frank Awards

Please join us each year as we recognize those who uphold Anne's ideals.

For more information, sponsorships, or award selection criteria, please see or email